A DWI conviction often comes with lifelong consequences. In addition to a lengthy prison sentence, you could lose your license, struggle to find employment in certain industries, and be marred by social stigma.
Don’t just hire the cheapest DWI lawyer you find on Google. Working with an attorney who genuinely cares about your future is crucial.
Edward Estrada is a criminal defense attorney who will work tirelessly to defend you. He will uncover every detail of your case to find the best possible defense on your behalf.
In some states, DWI and DUI refer to the same crime. However, in Texas, there are very specific and important differences.
According to Texas law, DUI refers only to an individual under the age of 21. Those 21 years old and older cannot commit a DUI, only a DWI.
While an individual older than 21 can only be charged with DWI if they are found with a .08% concentration of alcohol in their blood, a young person under 21 can be charged with a DUI if they are found with any amount of alcohol in their system at all.
If you need a DWI or DUI lawyer in Tyler, TX, contact Estrada Law today.
Under 17 DUI Sentencing
Sentencing for a minor younger than 17 convicted of DUI may include a $500 fine, community service, and driver’s license suspension for up to 180 days.
17-20 DUI Sentencing
Sentencing for a young person between 17 and 20 years of age is a Class B misdemeanor which may include incarceration for up to 180 days and fine of up to $2,000, plus license suspension for up to a year.
1st DWI Offense
A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor, which includes a prison sentence of up to 180 days, a $2,000 fine, and a license suspension for up to a year.
2nd DWI Offense
A second offense is a Class A misdemeanor with sentencing of up to a year in prison and a $4,000 fine, plus a license suspension of up to 2 years.
3rd DWI Offense
A third offense is a 3rd Degree Felony and includes a prison sentence of 2 to 10 years, plus a $10,000 fine and a license suspension of up to 2 years.
DWI with Child Passenger
When it comes to DWIs, a child passenger is any child under 15 years of age. This is a state jail felony with a state jail sentence of 6 months to 2 years, plus a maximum sentence of up to $10,000, and license suspension of up to 2 years.
A DWI that results in someone else’s death is called Intoxication Manslaughter. This is a 2nd Degree Felony which comes with a prison sentence of 2 to 10 years, a maximum fine of $10,000, and license suspension of up to 2 years.
Our DWI attorney in Tyler, TX has experience with a variety of DWI cases and will protect your rights and build a strong defense on your behalf.
When we investigate your case, we are seeking to find out if the officer:
If any of these details are legally challengeable, we will use them in your defense.
If you’re facing DWI charges and need a DWI or DUI attorney in Tyler, TX, contact the Estrada Law Firm today. We are happy to assist you.